Google Drive: File Sharing

Google Drive can instantly share any file from a single document to a folder full of information with other people. Its extremely easy to share a document, presentation, or even a folder of scanned files.

There are multiple different ways to share. The two most popular ways to share are via email addresses or a sharable link. To share using email, navigate to the share button, and all you have to do is add the recipient’s email address. If sharing within an organization typing, the recipients’ names will automatically prompt their email.

Sharing by link is just as easy too. Instead of inputting an email, click “get shareable link.” You can share this link with anyone and use it however you please.  In most cases, users use email sharing options as users ordinarily share files within the same organization. If not, most modern-day email users have a Google account they can use. Using a link to share files is preferable in situations where audiences may not necessarily have an account with Drive or the document is being shared with the general public.  Its good to keep in mind that when you share by link, you lose control over who has access to your document.

When you share a document, presentation, or sheet, you can select what privileges each person has.  There are three privilege levels that you can choose, viewer, commenter, or editor.  Viewers are allowed only to view the file. If you select their role as a commenter, they will be allowed to view the document and easily make comments and suggestions. However, they cannot physically edit the document. When you assign the editor’s role, you allow that person to make changes to the entire document.

The process of sharing files and sharing folders are the same. Just like files, sharing folders can have different levels of access. The owner can choose who can have access to view or edit content in each folder. While editors may have a vast array of flexibility when it comes to uploading, editing, rearranging, or even sometimes deleting files from a shared folder, only the owner has the ultimate authority to delete a file permanently. Files owners gain a sense of security as they are the only ones that can permanently erase anything.

Drive has functions that protect against files from being shared or edited by unwanted individuals. For example, one can limit file sharing to specific accounts, companies. Note, however, that anyone with at least view access to a folder will be able to download the contents within.

For all your Google Drive questions be sure to reach out to VForce, your remote workforce and Google Workspace experts.

Signup Today!

Stay updated on the latest virtual workforce news and solutions.

Something went wrong. Please check your entries and try again.

Related Posts